The AMET Global Maritime Summit 2024 (AGMS 2024) and AMET Global Maritime Awards 2024 (AGMA 2024), organized by Dr. J Ramachandran Maritime Foundation and AMET University, concluded on July 2, 2024, in Chennai, India. Over 1250 delegates, including industry experts, academicians, and global stakeholders, have participated to discuss maritime advancements, challenges, and opportunities.

AGMS 2024, themed “Charting the Future of Maritime Excellence,” featured panel discussions, technical sessions, and keynote addresses. Key speakers included Dr. J Ramachandran, Founder-Chancellor of AMET University, who emphasized continuous industry-academia collaboration and innovation for maritime excellence; Shri Shyam Jagannathan, IAS, Director General of Shipping, who discussed India’s advancements and initiatives in maritime resilience; and Prof. Adam Weintrit, Chair of the International Association of Maritime Universities, who advocated for inclusive technological discussions. The Chairman of Dr J Ramachandran Maritime Foundation and the Pro Chancellor of AMET, Dr Rajesh Ramachanrdan, has delivered Special Address underscored the ongoing demand and futuristic challenges in the maritime Industry. The summit’s panel discussions focused on STCW amendments and climate change technologies, moderated by Capt. Arun Mehta and Capt. Karan Kochhar, respectively. Concurrent technical sessions covered maritime education, technology innovations, management strategies, and sustainability, with over 70 research articles presented.

At the Valedictory Ceremony, His Excellency Mr. Haymandoyal Dillum, CSK, High Commissioner of the Republic of Mauritius, New Delhi delivered the Chief Guest Address and distributed AGMA Awards 2024. Awards included the Maritime Leadership Award to Ms. Nynne Norman Scheuer from Maersk, Denmark and VADM Eduardo Ma R Santos from MAAP, Phillipines, the Maritime Excellence Award to the Maritime Academy of Asia and the Pacific (MAAP), Denmark, and the Maritime Innovation Award to Mr. Suraj Singh of Seaker Systems, India. Col.Dr.G.Thiruvasagam, Pro-Chancellor Academics has convened the event; Dr. Deepa Rajesh, Vice President Academics and Dr Sangeetha Albin, Additional Registrar have coordinated AGMA 2024 and AGMS 2024, respectively. The AGMS and AGMA will continue annually, fostering recognition and promotion of excellence in the maritime sector.